Beginner To Making Alcohol. Tips, General Information That Will Be Helpful?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scream

Reaction score
I've been thinking about making my own alcohol for years now. More specifically Rum, however I think that's for another time.
I dislike jumping into something without having any understanding or any knowledge on the subject at all.
I've been doing some research and I've also watched plenty of videos on people making it. I take what some people do with a pinch of salt and listening more to those I think look like they know what they're doing.
I don't actually have any of the equipment but plan on buying it soon.
I'm not sure what else I can really add aside from simply stating again that I'm a beginner and want to learn helpful information that will hopefully help me produce a good first batch. It truly is appreciated the help and info that is supplied to me. Thank you.

What do you want to make? No point us wasting words if it's not something you're interested in doing.

Everyone is going to say learn to clean stuff, so just let's get that out of the way as it's pretty boring.

If it's beer you might want to try doing a simple kit, then maybe a little mash to add to a kit or a smash (google smash beer). Or you might want to do a wine kit. I find a decent wine kit gives pretty impressive results straight away, beer kits can really be variable.

And don't buy lager kits. I don't care about anybody's opinion on it - they're ****.

Well, I think you could start with a mead. Why? Not too many steps, about the same amount of ingredients, fairly high ABV, same rules of sanitation. Not really as (for lack of a better word) macho as rum, but it can have a punch athumb..