Best cheap kettle for home built boiler

Discussion in 'General Home Brew Equipment Discussion' started by MightyStig, Oct 7, 2019.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

  1. Oct 7, 2019 #1

    MightyStig

    MightyStig

    MightyStig

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi guys,

    Thinking of moving on from kits brews as have done about 17 now. I see a lot of posts about making home made boilers, but there as a few years old, mostly before Maplin shut.

    Anyone got an up to date guide. I will l be using HDPE buckets as vessel and really need to know which kettles are currently the best for removing the elements (UK based) any additional info on top of this would be a massive help.

    Cheers

    Jimbo
     
    Brew_DD2 likes this.
  2. Oct 13, 2019 at 12:10 AM #2

    dv12

    dv12

    dv12

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Jimbo. I am trying the same thing. I have bought a Tesco £6.50 kettle, took the element out and put into a plastic bucket I had. I used a 38mm hole saw. Fit was perfect and no leaks. However, 10l of cold water, 35mins later and it still wasn't boiling.
    I'm going to get a second kettle this weekend.
    There are some exposed screws, which are live. Thinking I might melt some plastic over anything exposed as precaution. I also plugged it into a RCD socket.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Oct 13, 2019 at 10:12 AM #3

    simon12

    simon12

    simon12

    THBF Sponsor THBF Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    608
    Location:
    Edenbridge Kent
    That looks like exactly what I built about 4 years ago. 1 Element does work but after 2 brews I added a second which speeds it up alot but just 1 keeps a strong boil once it gets there so keep a close eye on it. It looks like the cable you have going to it is a bit thin for the amount of current I suggest using the one that came with the kettle. I also attached a bazooka filter to the inside of the tap.
     
  4. Oct 13, 2019 at 10:42 AM #4

    cushyno

    cushyno

    cushyno

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Ormskirk
    The supplied cable with Tesco kettles seems woefully inadequate to use for longer periods. Not sure what rating they have but I wouldn't trust it. Ok for boiling a single kettle worth but not 30 litres.

    That said, the element is rated 2.4kw and does boil a kettle nice and quick.

    I have a Peco boiler rated 2.4kw and intended to add a Tesco element to get up to boil quicker. Not got round to it yet.
     
  5. Oct 13, 2019 at 10:47 AM #5

    cushyno

    cushyno

    cushyno

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Ormskirk
    Another thing, if you're using two elements it's best to plug into two separate ring circuits in your house to avoid high load on one circuit. Check the circuit rating of your house electrics at the RCD. I make sure nobody else tries to boil a kettle while I'm brewing so it doesn't trip out.
     
  6. Oct 13, 2019 at 10:58 AM #6

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
    I have one of those, last one I used Currys kettle. For the lead you can use a computer desktop power cable, just make sure it is 13a.
    I will keep it with my Robobrew, as hot liquor tank. Boils water really quickly
     
  7. Oct 13, 2019 at 1:05 PM #7

    dv12

    dv12

    dv12

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had not considered a computer power lead. I have a few kicking about as well. I took the kettle base apart and used the spade connectors attached to the wire ends. Prised them slightly with a flat blade and they were a nice snug fit over the element prongs. I used shrink tube to cover everything and keep it in place.
    I think the computer lead is a better idea tho.
     
  8. Oct 13, 2019 at 1:25 PM #8

    Alside101

    Alside101

    Alside101

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    West yorkshire, uk
    Wezzle and Chippy_Tea like this.
  9. Oct 13, 2019 at 3:02 PM #9

    Grealish

    Grealish

    Grealish

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
  10. Oct 13, 2019 at 3:06 PM #10

    Alside101

    Alside101

    Alside101

    Landlord.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    West yorkshire, uk
    I dont know but you just need a 13a kettle lead there on ebay or amazon
     
    Grealish likes this.
  11. Oct 13, 2019 at 3:07 PM #11

    cushyno

    cushyno

    cushyno

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Ormskirk
  12. Oct 13, 2019 at 3:51 PM #12

    Wezzle

    Wezzle

    Wezzle

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just to warn that IEC leads that come with computer equipment are usually only rated 5 Amps as most PCs pull under 300watts.
    Also be wary of cheap eBay leads which could be copper clad aluminium (CCA)
     
  13. Oct 13, 2019 at 5:22 PM #13

    foxbat

    foxbat

    foxbat

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    873
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    If you use a normal kettle lead or a computer power lead you will melt it and possibly start a fire. You need a "hot condition" cable. They're available from homebrew shops:

    https://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.u...kettle&PN=Power-Lead-for-Element.html#SID=164
    https://www.angelhomebrew.co.uk/en/kettle-elements/98-13a-hot-condition-element-lead.html
     
  14. Oct 13, 2019 at 5:27 PM #14

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
    If we really want to be that specific, you should use IEC C15 lead as those are rated to up 120 degrees
     
  15. Oct 13, 2019 at 5:31 PM #15

    Grealish

    Grealish

    Grealish

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks, guys. Frustratingly, those Peco prices are ex VAT so, with postage, the element plus lead come in at £29.
     
  16. Oct 14, 2019 at 7:55 PM #16

    PeterB

    PeterB

    PeterB

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was wondering if it is better to have multiple cheap 1kw elements or one 2.4kw element.
     
  17. Oct 14, 2019 at 8:49 PM #17

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
    Mine has 2x 2.4kw (or about) - one would be slow I think
     
  18. Oct 14, 2019 at 9:18 PM #18

    foxbat

    foxbat

    foxbat

    Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    873
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Looking at my last notes I can see it took about 40 minutes for my 2.4kW element to get 27 litres from mash to boil - and that's with stirring which will slow it down.
     
  19. Oct 15, 2019 at 9:17 AM #19

    the_quick

    the_quick

    the_quick

    Regular. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Polegate, East Sussex
    This is how I did one mine


    Second I didn't remove almost anything from the black enclosure and used 13A computer lead (it gets warm, so will replace it with C15 lead) - this one sometimes cut out, I think there thermal cut out mechanism there.

    If 2 are working I think it can boil full 25L in under 30 min.
    My Robobrew should arrive soon and it has combines 2.4kw elements - not sure if it is a different type, but will still use my diy boiler to prepare water for mashing and such.
    I have been experimenting lately with pre boiling water day before brew day, I think beer tastes better now. As in E.Sussex I think we have a lots of chalk in our water. But might add gypsum later.
     

Share This Page