Best Temperature for Coopers Mexican Cerveza

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harpo84

Reaction score
Always thinking ahead, I bought a Coopers Mexican Cerveza and Coopers Beer Enhancer 2 to be fermenting once my current batch of bitter is conditioning.

Now... I've looked into homebrew lager a bit (newbie here) and it seems that you'd normally use special lager yeast at lower temperatures than you would use for an ale? I've been checking temperatures in my house / shed and think I could probably get away with the ~12C that I've heard people recommend for lager.

But on reading the instructions supplied by Coopers, it seems that they recommend 18-23C.

Are they supplying normal ale yeast to make it easier for people to ferment at home without refrigeration? And would I get better results if I sourced my own lager yeast and tried fermenting at a lower temperature in the shed or my unheated extension?

Or should I stop messing with it and follow the instructions? ;-)

Thanks in advance!

Always thinking ahead, I bought a Coopers Mexican Cerveza and Coopers Beer Enhancer 2 to be fermenting once my current batch of bitter is conditioning.

Now... I've looked into homebrew lager a bit (newbie here) and it seems that you'd normally use special lager yeast at lower temperatures than you would use for an ale? I've been checking temperatures in my house / shed and think I could probably get away with the ~12C that I've heard people recommend for lager.

But on reading the instructions supplied by Coopers, it seems that they recommend 18-23C.

Are they supplying normal ale yeast to make it easier for people to ferment at home without refrigeration? And would I get better results if I sourced my own lager yeast and tried fermenting at a lower temperature in the shed or my unheated extension?

Or should I stop messing with it and follow the instructions? ;-)