BIAB Setup

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bigjas

Landlord.
Reaction score
I am looking for some words of wisdom regarding a BIAB setup. I am very new to brewing and have brewed a couple of kits with success and would like to get in to AG brewing. I have read a lot of information on here about AG brewing and think BIAB is the way to go for me at this time. I am not sure what size kit to get though? I have an induction hob in my kitchen but am worried about not being able to get a decent rolling boil in a large pot. I could buy a gas burner set up but not sure if this would be more expensive with having to purchase burners, gas bottles etc. I don't mind a small set up, but think it would be better if I can brew larger batches.

Anyone got any recommendations?

Thanks

Jas

I use a 30L electric boiler - you can use it for full 5 gallon (23L) brews but it's a bit small really. However, it only cost me eighty odd quid plus about a tenner for a large size BIAB bag. And other than an FV, thermometer and hydrometer that's all you need.
I made the switch to AG at the beginning of last year and the difference in the beer is amazing.

I am looking for some words of wisdom regarding a BIAB setup. I am very new to brewing and have brewed a couple of kits with success and would like to get in to AG brewing. I have read a lot of information on here about AG brewing and think BIAB is the way to go for me at this time. I am not sure what size kit to get though? I have an induction hob in my kitchen but am worried about not being able to get a decent rolling boil in a large pot. I could buy a gas burner set up but not sure if this would be more expensive with having to purchase burners, gas bottles etc. I don't mind a small set up, but think it would be better if I can brew larger batches.

Thanks

Jas