Bottled ales that are over carbonated

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shominy

Reaction score
I was just reading a thread on here about a TT Landlord clone and someone mentioned that the bottled stuff isn't as good as the cask variety which I'm sure 99% of people will agree with. They then said that most bottled ales seem to be over carbonated nowadays which I quite agree with. Now I'm pretty new to real ale but it is definitely something which I have noticed when buying bottles from the shop vs having a pint from a pub. Are there any ales, I'm talking English bitters/pale ales, that are very lightly carbonated out of the bottle and not like some sort of pseudo lager as most seem to be now?

I think the closest you’ll get is the “macro” bitters like Boddingtons or John Smiths that come in the cans with the widgets. Is that even still a thing?

Alternatively some breweries do beer in a bag or 5L mini casks that are more in keeping with the style carbonation-wise but they don’t keep as long.

I find that bottled beers are so over carbonated that it’s difficult to distinguish one form another so I generally only buy beers that are meant to have higher carb levels outwith the pub.

Just pour it into a big jug or saucepan from a height and then into the glass, or give it a big shujj with a pencil. I do it all the time with my beers because I carbonate everything at 2.3 vols the first time then work out if they're better lower carbed.

Just having a can of Old Speckled Hen and its quite lightly carbed. The cans weren't blown up hard from the pressure either. Are canned ales less carbed generally? I cant see why they would be other than the ring pull being a weak spot but thinking back to others I've had, Abbot Ale for example, the cans do seem smoother compared to bottled. Or equally it could be my imagination.

Last edited: