Brew Bucket Temp Control - FTS Query

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paul3944

Reaction score
The temps in my garage have dropped considerably over the last few days, and I was considering some kind of temperature control (heating) for my SS Brewtech Brew Bucket.

Is it possible to just the OEM (FTS) heating kit without using the cooling kit and all kinds of pipework?

My garage is about 15-20C usually so not overly concerned with the cooling aspect of the FTS system.

Thanks in advance
Paul

I have a SS Brewmaster Bucket and looked into getting the heating only FTS upgrade - I believe Malt Miller and/or Brew UK stock it - but (IIRC) it costs over £100 which I didn't feel represented value for money.

I ended up getting an Inkbird 308 temp controller (£25) and a brew belt (£15-20) and it does the same job. Works really well for stopping the temp dropping too low in colder environments.

Many thanks for the quick reply!

I seen a similar setup mentioned on a American forum however there where concerns about risks off electrocution from the stainless steel body? I imagine the FTS upgrade is the same principle as a brew belt.

Do you have the neoprene jacket as well to aide with insulation?

I've heard the argument around the risk of electrocution when using these heat belts with SS equipment. There's no doubt that it is a risk but I believe it to be a very low and easy managed one, particularly when dealing with well made equipment. As you say, the heating pads SS Brew tech supply with their FTS products will carry the same risk. I suppose if one was really worried about it one could earth the fermenter?