Brew day plan

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tinlife

Reaction score
Hi All

Tinlife here! Planning my brew day and here’s what I’m thinking - any pointers much appreciated:

1 x coopers draught
1kg light dried malt extract
300g brewing sugar
25g Amarillo hops.

my plan is to do the hops as a tea in the empty coopers can - 20mins in the can and then throw in the liquid.

I’ve never done this before so just following posts from others. Any thoughts, advice etc much appreciated

Sounds great. This will increase the bitterness and add some more aroma. If you just want more aroma I'd go for a dry hop - might want twice as much for a dry hop, but will be fine for a hop tea.

But this is exactly how I started tweaking my kits - I really like a good kit beer, but they are def better with malt, hops or other sugars (I loved treacle and golden syrup in a stout)

For dry hopping you want them in the wort/beer about 3 to 5 days - so let the beer ferment out for a week or more then throw in the hops. If you have a way to cold crash, I'd just thrown them in loose, and they will drop out in the crash. But if you don't then a sterile bag is great. Go bigger than you think as they swell and weigh down by throwing a teaspoon or two in the bag.

Brilliant. Thanks for the advice. Not sure about cold crashing. I brew in my shed with an immersion heater to regulate heat. If I turn that off it would go pretty cold!

@Clint I’ve a brand new unopened 100g bag so could go higher than 50g. I would prefer it over rather than over hopped in first attempt though. Do you think 50g is enough to start with or should I go for 75g?

by the way - I’m planning to use bottled water this time. The tap water round here is awful to drink so I imagine it hasn’t helped my brew taste.