Brewster Beacon

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cwrex

Supporting Member
Reaction score
My Brewster Beacon has arrived! I got the Chiller as well. Any Top Tips?
I've never used any automated gear before so I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance - Conor

My Brewster Beacon has arrived! I got the Chiller as well. Any Top Tips?
I've never used any automated gear before so I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance - Conor
First give a good clean, check the calibration of the temperature, follow the 'how to use instructions' after a few brews throw away the overflow pipe, get some 5/16 all thread as a handle, don't be afraid of using galvanised nuts to hold in position. The yeast will thank you for it then make your own way through the brewing process. These units are ideal for no sparge 21 litre brews.

Hi @Cwrex

Firstly be careful when cleaning the mesh trays, they are sharp. I forget to wear gloves constantly and hack my hands to bits!

As above get the temp calibration done, personally I always sparge but you have options. Plus I use it in manual mode, never automatic.

These units are notorious with lifting the bottom filter during the boil allowing hop and grain debris into the pump. @Andrew Booth who kindly sold me the Beacon came up with a great plan of sitting a false bottom over the bottom mesh plate which works a treat. However I believe Brewolution are now offering a hop filter (similar to a bazooka) for the pump, interested to see if yours came with that.

This is a powerful heater, roll back close to mash and boil temps. Happy to share the numbers if you need them.

Great bit of kit, produced some fantastic beers so far.

Happy Brewing

Attachments

• 20220618_115152.jpg
    20220618_115152.jpg
    51.9 KB · Views: 0
Let me know how you get on matey with that filter please.