Burco boiler tripping out power

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpb

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I've got a 30l Burco bouler that I've been using for several years without issue, until recently. Firstly, a few weeks ago while using it to heat water for the mash the (4KW) voltage regulator failed with a pop and tripped out the mains.

So, VR replaced - this time with a 6KW one, I plugged in the boiler and the mains immediately tripped. As I hadn't even switched the power on at the socket I suspected a Neutral to Earth fault, so measured it and sure enough it was short circuit. After disconnecting and reconnecting the spade connector on the N side of the element it started working again, for a wile then the same happened again but also it tripped the mains when I turned the power down low, I repeated the test with the same result.

So, next up I replaced the element with a new one as it had a N - E short and I suspected that might be the cause of the tripping at low power - not that I can work out how that could happen. Once replaced I turned on the boiler again and all was OK until I turned it down low - then it tripped the mains again. I once again repeated this, slowly turning down the power and it seems the tripping point is about 10% power.

So, does anyone have any isea what could be causing this? Or any suggestions? I've checked the wiring and ensured it is wired as per the book https://www.burco.co.uk/sites/default/files/assets//WH00050-4 Burco Manual Fill Instruction Booklet (083184001 ISS 4).pdf with the exception that the 97° limit thermostat is bypassed and the thermostat is replaced by a voltage regulator. The neutral connections are via the COM connector on the VR.

This is the type of voltage regulator I'm using AC 220V 6KW SCR Voltage Regulator Motor Speed Controller Dimmer Thermostat | eBay

Last edited: