Calling all IT experts

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have an issue with my netgear wireless adapter.

It started after I had to disable and then enable my usb controllers.

After doing this the adapter hasn't worked. When I plug it in the lights flash as if it's looking for a network but then goes blank.

The computer is recognising the adapter and days it's fully working and drivers are up to date.

But if I go into change adapter settings it's showing as disabled. When I click on enable, a popup saying enabling is taking place appears then goes. Afterwards it's still showing as disabled.

I have tried a few things off Google but no joy. Any ideas before I buy a new one?

I'm no expert but I'll start with a few questions.

What OS are you on? Windows 7,10 etc
When did you last download some updates?
What is the model number of the net gear adapter?

I'm no expert but I'll start with a few questions.

What OS are you on? Windows 7,10 etc
When did you last download some updates?
What is the model number of the net gear adapter?
Windows 7
Last update was about Xmas time. I noticed there were two updates available yesterday, one of them was for my graphics card.
Its a netgear wnda3000v2

Any screen shots or specific error messages presented to you?
There wasn't any particular error message. I plug the adapter in, it lights up as it should but then goes out. Windows says it's all working etc under device manager but under change adapter settings it showing disabled and won't enable

Bring up start menu
Type "run" <enter>
Type "eventvwr" <enter>

The Windows event viewer will appear.

Expand "windows logs". Errors from device drivers will be under the System section but also check the Application section. Look for anything suspicious at boot time and also at the moment you click enable.