Carbonating Corny kegs

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnturn

Reaction score
Hi, just gassed up my first corny keg with my new favourite home brew in it, just the one one question. If I gass up to say 15psi in the next 24 hours should the pressure still be 15psi or should it be lower because the gas is being absored into the beer. Dont have a regulator at the moment so just want to make sure I dont have a leak or anything.

Thanks John

Hi John & Welcome :thumb:

I'd expect it to drop a bit due to absorbtion, and the colder you store the corny is the more the beer will absorb.

I'm not a corny expert so hopefully someone will be along shortly to put you (us) straight ;) but...

If it hits zero PSI tomorrow you have a leak if it's down to say 10 PSI it's absorbed 5psi :thumb:

Cheers, Wez

the beer will absorb some gas, so it's likely it'll lose pressure even without leaks.

it's a bit late now, but it's worth checking for leaks when empty...you can check now but there's probably not alot you can do about it... so just mix up a soapy solution of water and brush it around the seals, poppets and PRV, and look for bubbles. if there are none then you're sorted ... just keep it topped up as it absorbs the gas :thumb:

i keep my kegs at 1PSI per degree C that they're stored in.. so if my room temp is 18'c, then i set it at 18PSI and leave it that way for a bit longer than a week, then drop down to serving pressure (about 10psi)

hope this helps :thumb:

Superb, thanks for the welcome and fast replies. I did do the pressure test with the soapy water before hand which did seem fine. Took the time to clean the keg, replace all the seals and steralize everything porperly. Just thought I would check but I think its ok. Put 15psi in the keg and six hours later its dropped about 0.5psi. As for 1 psi per degree, how would you describe the carbonation level.