cask of riesling

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonyhibbett

Landlord.
Reaction score
I have been making wine since 1965 but it's only since 2004 that I have been using real fresh grapes from vines. A new neighbour found vine branches growing over her fence so she had a pergola built and trained them over it. By september there were loads of green grapes and she asked my advice. She accepted my offer to attempt to turn them into wine. We filled a 5 gallon bin and a 2 gallon bucket with the bunches. Lacking a press, I crushed them with my feet in a plastic half barrel planter and squeezed out most of the juice using a large muslin bag, yielding over 2 gallons of juice.
I followed advice and added camden tablets to kill off unwanted yeast and pathogens, then added a general purpose wine yeast. The sugar content was low (SG 45) and the acid content was high so after the initial fermentation I added enough sugar to bring the potential alcohol to 12% and 10% water to reduce the acidity. This is common practice in the Rhine. After some research, I'm pretty sure that the vine was a Riesling, not too popular in the UK as it requires a long, warm growing season to fully ripen.
It's worth mentioning that I live in Isleworth, West London and that the garden backs onto a railway embankment to the north, effectively a south facing slope in southern England, inland. Apparantly the climate, compared to 1950, is now similar to that of mid France.
Once the wine had been racked off the dead yeast, fined and racked again, I had 2.5 gallons of clear, dry and sharp wine. The closest resemblance was vinho verde so I called it Isleworth Green!
The next year the entire crop was devastated by mildew.