Chill cube?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimmy90

Reaction score
Hi guy's, I've just got myself a grainfather 40l modified sparge water heater to attempt some biab brews. I'm going to try no chilling to begin with in a 'cube'. Now, I've seen various videos where people chill by submerging there 'vessel' in a ice bath etc if they haven't a chiller. Obviously this can't be done with a electric water heater so my question is this. Once the wort is transferred to the cube, has anyone then tried chilling that cube? Ie submerge the cube in a ice bath etc? I'm a total beginner here so would love to hear your thoughts. Brilliant forum btw, many thanks, Jimmy 🍻

I have two no chill Jerry cans that so far are unused...I get them free so no worries...if I was using them I'd fill them up,put the lid on and leave them til tomorrow..

Hi Jimmy and welcome to the forum.

I thought the point of using a cube was to allow it to cool naturally, overnight. If you are planning to chill the wort in a water / ice bath, could you not transfer into the fv, sitting in a sink / trug of cold water.

A better bet, especially in the longer term is buy a reel of 8mm microbore copper pipe and a few fittings and make an immersion chiller.

Hi Mmmbeer, thank you for your reply. Yes I am planning on no chilling to begin with. It just crossed my mind if it was possible to chill the cube, if I wanted to chill. I've read that people ferment in cubes also so that's kinda where the idea came from. I have just bought the modified water heater kit from malt miller which included what looks like a decent biab bag, and a couple of good quality taps. Any info on other vital items i need would be much appreciated. Many thanks, Jimmy.