Cold Crash in addition to Finings? Anybody?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muppix

Regular.
Reaction score
I'm a bit new to the world of cold-crashing at the end of primary since I've only recently acquired a fridge big enough, and I was very pleased with the results when I tried it for the first time. I'm also new to finings, and was equally pleased when a ⅓ Protafloc tablet cleared up another beer beautifully by the end of primary. But, because of my shiny new fridge, I stuck the fined beer in there on the basis that if there's anything left to drop out, it may as well drop out now rather than in the keg, which will also go into a fridge. It's been in there for 2 days now and it just approaching 4 ℃ and I can't help but think that it's a smidge less clear now than it was when I put it in, purely based on how well I can see my Tilt Pro from outside the Fermzilla. OK, the hydrometer might have moved or it might be the condensation which gathers instantly whenever I open the door.

So, long story short: does anybody also cold-crash before kegging if finings were added during the boil, or do you just go straight to keg when fermentation is finished?

1617177872942.png

I have only ever cold crashed twice, one of those was for a lager so part of the process I guess, but according to a study by Brulosophy, it does not appear worth bothering with perhaps? There will of course be a split opinion on this - BRULOSOPHY

Unless I’m doing a style that should be hazy I use 1/2 Protofloc last 10 minutes of the boil, chill and leave for at least half an hour to settle before transferring from above the trub into the FV, ferment as normal, drop temperature to 12-15 degrees after fermentation, add Gelatine and cold crash for three days before kegging.
Something else that will probably divide opinions.