Complete Newbie from Grimsby

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Oh well, I've took the plunge! Probably start it in the next couple of days :thumb:

IMG_0003[1].jpg

Ah well, a bit of an update. Started it two weeks ago, a Brewmaker Shire Mild kit from the shop in Grimsby, it says ready to drink in about 10 days! Did as the instructions said but instead of adding 1kg of sugar I used 1kg of Muntons beer enhancer. I was a bit premature pitching the yeast as it was about 25 degrees C but it soon dropped to 23 then slowly came down to the room temp of 20. The OG was 1042 which was higher than I thought it would be but put that down to the beer enhancer. Started fermenting and next day the airlock was bubbling away nicely. After 2 days I had to leave it but kept the room at 20 and the wife in charge :oops: . Returned 5 days later to find very occasional bubbles through the airlock, checked the SG and it was at around 1019, gave it a light stir and it started bubbling again quite regular. Checked it again on Monday after the bubbles slowed and it was at 1010, was getting very occasional bubbles and checked it again this morning and it read 1010 so thought I'd bottle it though the instructions say below 1008 and after 4-6 days. It's had a full 2 weeks in the FV so hope I've done right. I've filled and capped 42 500ml bottles adding 0.5 tsp of granulated sugar to each, I threw away about 1 litre with the sediment at the bottom of the FV.

I tried a bit of it and the best I can describe it as so far is a bit weak, watery and very old school 'homebrew' taste! Is that normal? Nothing nasty with no off smells or tastes just.......homebrew! Will it all come good in the bottles? I'm planning on the bottles being kept at 20 degrees for a week or so then in the garage for at least two before trying it. Any comments or tips would be greatly appreciated, ta.