Complete newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xoddsx

Reaction score
Hello everybody, I'm just about to start on my homebrewing adventure. Read a couple of books and done a day of brewing with a friend's kit. I've been looking at pulling the trigger on a Grainfather connect rather than buy all the individual components. As much for space saving as anything else. I'm not sure whether to buy a recipe kit to start to avoid having to buy all the malts etc separately and go from there. I wondered if there are any top tips for new starters?

Patience, young padawan.

The thing is, do you want to do all-grain or extract brewing? Exctract brewing seems a bigger thing in the English speaking world (UK and US) than on the continent. However, what I do see on this forum, are regular postings of people who have switched to all-grain brewing, and wonder why they have brewed kits (all though there seem to be some kits that are of high quality).

Try to know the amount of beer you will consume (taking into account friends and relatives). Know the amount of storage space you will need for the beer you want in stock. Do you want a regular beer to drink every day, or do you want to experiment with lots of beers. What is the minimum amount you can brew with an all-in-one system, because there physical parameters which make that you can not go under a certain amount of malt and water to brew (that is true for any brewing system).

Even if you buy a Grainfather, you would also have to add the cost of a cooling system for your wort (I think that is always separate from these all-in-one brewing systems), a grain crusher, if you want to control your mash better, also a pH meter. You will need a fermenter and bottling material.