Complete novice with limited resources- please help!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EHS

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I would be really grateful for any advice. I’m brand new at this and live abroad where certain things aren’t available, so am trying to make the best of what I’ve got. I’m trying to replicate shop bought (normal/grape) wine as much as possible

please could anyone help me with the following?
1)Why would you add different flavours of juice/fruits to grape juice? Just for variety? Does this still taste like standard shop bought (grape) wine with tasting notes or does it taste completely different?
2) how do you calculate sugar totals and what does this therefore mean? I can’t get hygrometers out here
3) when do you top up with water - is it after the first racking?
4) please can someone explain how much headspace is ideal? I have 10L or 5L containers. Is there a difference between glass and plastic?
5) I also can’t buy finings, so was planning on racking 3 times for 5 days each, does this sound ok?
6) also no nutrient available- I read on here someone used tomato purée?
7) please could someone e plain how Epsom salts help?
8) I can buy 100% vegetable glycerine in the beauty aisle - apparently it can also be used as a moisturiser! Is this the same product?
9) Could I use hibiscus tea or similar as an alternative to black tea for tannins? I can’t tolerate the caffeine from normal tea (can’t fine decaf normal tea here) Someone else had mentioned raisins?

id be really grateful for any help with these questions, sorry if they are basic, I’m just trying to learn!

Hi EHS
Why don't you tell us which country you're in. There might be others there who have trodden this path before you. Are you in one of the arabic countries that make a homebrewer's life difficult?