Coopers European Lager

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meza

Reaction score
Hello Euro fans, this is my first time doing the Coopers European Lager having heard a lot about it. Looking for a bit of advice on timings and temps please, hops, and diacetyl rests. I've got a temp chamber I can use to raise or lower the temp, but at the moment the FV is just in a cold spare room.

Day 0
I brewed long, by 1 litre. I pitched yeast at 21C and let it cool to 15C over 12 hours. It's been between 13C-15C for two weeks.

Day 14 - at ~15C
SG 1.014
Fairly carbonated. Tastes a bit sherberty

When should I drop the fermenter temp down for lagering? What temp and how long for?

At what point should I do a diacetyl rest, and how do I do that (temp and times?)

And what's the best plan for bottling?
A saaz hop tea sounds like an interesting addition, when should that be done?

thanks

IMG_20190114_225744040.jpg

Hello Euro fans, this is my first time doing the Coopers European Lager having heard a lot about it. Looking for a bit of advice on timings and temps please, hops, and diacetyl rests. I've got a temp chamber I can use to raise or lower the temp, but at the moment the FV is just in a cold spare room.

Day 0
I brewed long, by 1 litre. I pitched yeast at 21C and let it cool to 15C over 12 hours. It's been between 13C-15C for two weeks.

Day 14 - at ~15C
SG 1.014
Fairly carbonated. Tastes a bit sherberty

When should I drop the fermenter temp down for lagering? What temp and how long for?

At what point should I do a diacetyl rest, and how do I do that (temp and times?)

And what's the best plan for bottling?
A saaz hop tea sounds like an interesting addition, when should that be done?

thanks

View attachment 17373