Critique my NIPA recipe idea

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Splodges

Reaction score
Hello! This will be my fourth brew so far, I've done 2 session IPAs and a wheat beer and thought I'd like to try a NIPA style. I've not done one before but I'm going for a fresh fruity style with good mouthfeel, sweetness and bitterness.

I got great feedback and pointers on my last recipe I posted here and I'd really appreciate any pointers with this recipe including anything including grain bill, hop ratio, yeast choice, etc. Very open to your guys experienced opinions!

Here she is:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/671064/nipper

Splodges :hat:

I'm not an expert on NEIPA but as no one has offered advice yet I'll try. It can be a tricky style and needs some practice to nail it. However even if it's not perfect you can create something tasty.
The choice of hops looks fine. It's a fairly low bitterness style so I'd have all late hops, getting most bitterness from a good size 10 or 15 minute addition.
As for malt the percentage of flaked grains looks about right, I'd consider swapping half or all the maris otter for a more neutral extra pale base malt.

I'd ditch the lactose and maybe the orange peel too, this style is all about BIG late and dry hops, at least 300g total.

The best reports for dry yeast with NEIPA seem to be with S-04, not heard of anyone using Nottingham.

Water chemistry is important for NEIPA, do you treat your water at all?

Just for reference this recipe gives you a decent idea of a well respected NEIPA recipe: https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/363082/avg-perfect-northeast-ipa-neipa-

Last edited: