Czech pilsner - recipe critique

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I picked up 50g of Lupomax Saaz hops and some Kveik Voss yeast at BrewCon, am thinking of using them in a Bohemian/Czech style pilsner. This is my first attempt at a recipe, loosely based on David Heath’s guide.
How does this sound? I have added some carapils for head retention and Melanoidin to give a bit of a decotion feel to it. Thanks in advance!

F97C6380-D433-45A6-9670-6EFBEBE47CFD.png

Thanks for the feedback!

Especially at this time of year!
I’ll be pressure fermenting at around 23C so hoping it comes out fairly clean though could just get a bohemian yeast such as M84 in when I order the grains and ferment at 10-15.

That looks like a lot of hops for a Pilsner
It comes out with an IBU of 36, the guide for a premium Czech pilsner is 30-45. I guess there is a lot I’m sticking in at the end, hoping to accentuate the Saaz flavour, I could cut back there as they’re not adding much in terms of bitterness.

How‘s the grain bill sound? Wondering if I should cut out one of the speciality malts and boost the pale a tad.

Thanks for the feedback!

I’ll be pressure fermenting at around 23C so hoping it comes out fairly clean though could just get a bohemian yeast such as M84 in when I order the grains and ferment at 10-15.

It comes out with an IBU of 36, the guide for a premium Czech pilsner is 30-45. I guess there is a lot I’m sticking in at the end, hoping to accentuate the Saaz flavour, I could cut back there as they’re not adding much in terms of bitterness.

How‘s the grain bill sound? Wondering if I should cut out one of the speciality malts and boost the pale a tad.

I think everything is ok apart from the yeast. I hate the flavour it gives. I would go with cml hell. I use 3 packs in 28l