Dark fruity British ale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been trying to produce a dark fruity British ale for some time now, in the manner of one of my favourite local brew Uley Old Spot
http://www.uleybrewery.com/ales.htm

I've just done one for the 4th attempt and each one has been better, but I'm not getting the fruitiness. I've tried a variety of yeasts inc MJ Empire Ale yeast, mashing at a higher temperature and larger quantities of crystal malt (17% in the last one) but I'm still not getting what I want.

Was wondering if an addition of aromatic malt would work? Any other suggestions?

Brewed with Empire ale yeast twice and allowed it to ferment at 22/23c for the first few days, found it came out with big hits of fruit similar to Poachers choice, my taste pallete is pretty good, but I am no pro.
for that style empire ale yeast will be my first choice every time.
for the recipe I followed the Esb recipe.

Your description reminds me of Ringwood 49er although I've never tried the beer you describe. This is the Wyeast strain you need:
STRAIN: 1187 RINGWOOD ALE™

Species: Saccharomyces cerevisiae

A top cropping yeast strain with unique fermentation and flavor characteristics. Expect distinct fruit esters with a malty, complex profile. Flocculation is high, and the beer will clear well without filtration. A thorough diacetyl rest is recommended after fermentation is complete. This strain can be a slow starter and fermenter.

My advice would be to try a liquid yeast too, I like Wyeast 1469 West Yorkshire. I doubt aromatic malt is going to give you fruity notes, might also be their choice of hops, what you using?

My advice would be to try a liquid yeast too, I like Wyeast 1469 West Yorkshire. I doubt aromatic malt is going to give you fruity notes, might also be their choice of hops, what you using?