Decent Lager kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Satellitemark

Regular.
Reaction score
Almost every thing I read about lager kits is negative, I live in a house without central heating so I think I could do a kit with lower temperature lager yeast if such a beast exists.

If anyone knows of a decent Lager kit please let me know about it.

Thanks,

Mark

I am no expert but believe that many kits sold as lagers either have ale yeasts or a sort of hybrid though I have read on here that the Coopers European lager comes with a lager yeast and the reviews seem OK.

Almost every thing I read about lager kits is negative, I live in a house without central heating so I think I could do a kit with lower temperature lager yeast if such a beast exists.

If anyone knows of a decent Lager kit please let me know about it.

Thanks,

Mark
My post was meant as a reply though not sent as such so this might serve as an alert!

The Coopers kits are good, especially if you do a dry hop with some lager hops like Hallertau or Saaz.

As stated above, the European uses a true lager yeast but the downside is it takes at least 12 weeks in the bottle to mature. TBH I've done that one and the Australian Lager and both were fine.

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies, I don't mind the longer time in the bottle, as I could stash It for use in spring for family gatherings ( if we are permitted)

Mark

Coopers 86 day Pilsner also comes with the same lager yeast.
However you might need to use extra lager yeast if you intend to ferment below say 14-15*C although some have managed with the single 7g kit yeast (I didn't).

I'd heard that was good, I've done the Wilko's one a few times and always enjoyed the results.

Mark