Disaster brew!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WelshDave

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and have so far brewed a all grain kit from brewdog (punk) and my own smash which went well, both 1 gallon batched in demijohns. My latest brew was 1kg of Marris Otter and 100g of crystal with Styrian goldings and cascade for hops. S04. I was aiming for a darker beer as an experiment. I used a 30l bucket fermenter which looked odd with such a small batch. The first issue I had was no bubbles in the airlock at all..but some krausen indicating the c02 was escaping elsewhere. After 2 weeks the result was an extremely strong beer full of sediment and an overwhelming strong smell of fermented apples. I was tempted to bottle but decided not to bother and wrote the batch off as it tasted bad.
Was this result of oxidisation from using such a large fermenter for a small batch? Its gone on my never again list! Also...did I use too much grain?

As many traditional breweries use open fermenters, then logically, it should'nt be a matter of headspace. On the other hand, they pitch yeast by the bucketful and a thick, rocky head begins to form within hours. I don't know how much of the sachet of SO4 you used, but I would have tipped the lot in. So yes, I think your beer got off to a slow start and con-fermented with some unwanted element. I'd be inclined to ferment in a two-gallon bucket for a one-gallon batch.
Did you use too much grain? No. Is it oxidation? Not exactly: many microbes, acetobacter for example, cannot multiply without the presence of oxygen. There was just two much headspace in a 30-litre bucket for such a small fermentation to replace all the air with CO2.