Dry Hopped Lager

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul7189

Regular.
Reaction score
Does anyone have any recommendations for dry hopped lager recipes?

I'm thinking of trying to do a pilsner and following the usual 4 week post fermentation lagering process but I wanted to dry hop it. I was under the impression that dry hopping was best at a warmer temperature but also you lose the aroma and flavour with time so with something like a 4 week largering would that negatively impact the beer?

I usually lager in a keg and don't want to dry hop in the keg into carbonated beer. Would you just treat it like a normal lager and add the hops during diacetyl rest, then cold crash and transfer to keg and lager at a very low temp for 4 weeks? That's my plan so far but I have never tried this before so I was wondering what others have done themselves.

Also would you use typical pilsner hops to make the beer and something IPA like for the dry hopping.

Cheers
Paul

Hiya, I've been making the Brew Dog Lost Lager for the last year - which is heavily dry hopped. As I pressure ferment in a corny, I dry hop for the whole fermentation period (which is only 5 or 7 days), before 2 or 3 days cold crash, the move to serving keg. I use both a hop spider and a spare lid with a floating dip tube to minimise hop and yeast transfer.

As an alternative I just made an Evil Twin 'Bikini Beer' (2.5 percent) and that I loose dry hopped in the primary for 3 days. Loads of the hops was still very dry on top, but a good cold crash drew it down and let me with a great beer in the keg.

I'd personally dry hop as late as possible before bottling or kegging, but I haven't brewed a 'proper' lager yet. But I love a dry hopped lager.

Last edited: