Fermenting under pressure

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldpathwhiteclouds

Reaction score
I’ve got my Sierra Nevada clone in my new fermzilla all rounder today. Long day.

It doesn’t fit in my beer fridge annoyingly so will ferment in my kitchen again.
At the moment I have an airlock in. I do want to try fermenting under pressure.

When should I switch out the airlock for the plastic pressure cap and spunging valve do you think? Immediately? After 48 hrs? Have read different things.

I’m no expert , but intend to christen my all rounder next weekend. My plan is to set my spunding valve on a known source to 5 psi and use that from the off leaving air lock redundant. Be interested to know how your brew goes . Cheers

Can’t help with your brew.But for my ipa’s I normally set my spunding valve for 10psi.For my neipa I have 5psi until first dry hop then let it rise to 10psi before enclosed transfer.

I’ve got my Sierra Nevada clone in my new fermzilla all rounder today. Long day.

It doesn’t fit in my beer fridge annoyingly so will ferment in my kitchen again.
At the moment I have an airlock in. I do want to try fermenting under pressure.

When should I switch out the airlock for the plastic pressure cap and spunging valve do you think? Immediately? After 48 hrs? Have read different things.