Festival Razorback IPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jane Walker

Reaction score
I am very new to this home brewing lark - but enjoying it very much. My first was a Youngs American IPA which I have to say tastes amazing... Thought I would try a different one and have now made a Festival Razorback IPA. My question is... it seemed to stop fermenting after about 10 days and the Gravity reading was 10.10 (giving me a ABV of 5%) for two consecutive days. So I have syphoned it into a second bucket with the priming sugar with the intention of letting it settle a bit and then bottling after 24 hours. Problem is that it appears to be fermenting again - should I leave it? If I do, would I have to add more sugar just before bottling... This brewing is a minefield!!! Many thanks in advance for any advice.

It'll be the priming sugar that is starting to ferment - the priming sugar is normally added when you put the beer under pressure, either in bottles or a pressure barrel, such that the CO2 that is being produced carbonates the beer rather than escaping. I would say get it in the bottles now, otherwise you're losing carbonation! Or let it ferment out, accept that the ABV will be a bit higher, and add some more priming sugar when you do bottle.

Thank you - that was very prompt!! Decision made, tonight I am bottling!! The American IPA that I made prior to this one came out at 6.7% which is a bit on the high side so I'm too concerned that this is a little lower. Again, many thanks.

I was prompt, because I'm procrastinating on other things.

You're about on target for that kit - it's estimated to come out at 5.7%. That's based on a FG of 1.009 (depending on how accurate you've been with the hydrometer, you might already be there) and the priming sugar will add around 0.3-0.5% alcohol.