First All grain brew in Brew Devil & Fermzilla

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul1084

Reaction score
Hi,

looking for some advice on a first All grain brew:

so I am new to all grain brewing, and have recently invested in a new 30L Brew Devil, along with a 27l Fermzilla with pressure kit, and spunding valve. I also have a fermentation chamber (old fridge) with an added heat source, and inkbird temperature control.

For my first brew, I decided to purchase a recipe kit from BrewUK for a "Mosaic IPA" it had good reviews, I like hoppy IPA's, and this recipe seemed simple without too many Hop additions for a first brew... However the supplied instructions are not quite as I was expecting....

First question:
They provide standard & Braumeister instructions... I was assuming the Braumeister instructions are the ones I want to follow, as this should be similar equipment to the brew Devil.... The standard instructions specify a 90min mash with 2.5l water per kg of malt (approx. 13.5l water) which sounds about right to me, then sparge to bring it up to 26l... however the Braumeister instructions say to mash with 23l of water for 60mins, Remove the mash pipe then top up to 27l... this is more of a full volume mash without sparge??, which I wasn't expecting... which instructions should I follow? I have not put the recipe into any software, and hadn't really planned to, as I wanted to keep things as simple as possible to start with

Second question(s):
I plan to ferment under pressure, I'm not going to add CO2 as I don't currently have a co2 tank, I planned to just let it naturally come up to pressure by setting the spunding valve
  1. Should I start off with an airlock to give the vessel a chance to purge out any oxygen before I swap for spunding valve and allow it to build up some pressure? if so, how long do you think it will take to natually purge?