First boil in a bag brew - damn, how did that happen!?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seghes

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m still very new to home brew, done about 6 ag brews, quite successfully. Tried a Jon Finch recipe for Hefe Weiss (wheat beer). All went to plan until I transferred to FV and got a SG reading of 1040 - way off the anticipated 1050. Three days later I’m only getting 2 repeat readings of 1016. Brewfather tells me I have at this rate a brewhouse efficiency of 61%, attenuation 59% and ABV 3.2%. FV currently running about 21C. What’s going on?!
My thoughts so far: 1. I didn’t get enough sugars out of the bag at mash out. I squeezed as much as I could with bare (sanitised) hands, but was it hot! (Gloves now on order.) 2. Should have mashed for longer; I did an hour at 66C though Finch’s general advice is up to an hour and a half. 3. Final volume in FV was 20.5L for an intended batch of 19L - have I overproduced/diluted? 4. I have no other ideas! So disappointed and thinking should I stick to mashing and sparging in my Brewzilla in future.

Last edited:
There's a few things that could contribute to this situation. Try to learn from this and rule them out next time.
1. Inaccurate measurements
Did you measure wort at the right temp and if not did you correct for temp?
2. Grain crush
A finer grain crush helps with lower efficiency from BIAB
3. Mash temp
Was your mash a consistent temperature?
Higher temps will extract a less fermentable wort so could be worth doing a step mash if recirculating is possible, 61c and 68c should extract a more fermentable wort with a lower FG

The efficiency isn’t far off where I would expect it. BIAB efficiency is around 65%, brewing systems 75-85%, professional breweries 90-95%. You may have got the extra 4% by mashing for a bit longer.