Flat homebrew issues

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ginsoak

Reaction score
Hi, thanks for letting me sign up.

I am pretty new to brewing, I've got a Young's Homebrew Kit complete with pressure barrel and currently have a Young's American IPA on the go. I followed all the instructions and kept it in the primary at room temperature for four weeks - ensuring the specific gravity was correct - before adding the hops, transferring to the pressure barrel and moving to a fridge (2 degrees celsius). I tried it for the first time last week (after a week in the fridge) - it was cloudy but had a good head and was drinkable. I then left it another week before trying it again. When I did a very loud noise - sounded like it was going to explode - came from the barrel when the tap was turned before the beer came out completely flat. I'm assuming that was air rushing in through the tap. I was very careful prior to transferring to the pressure barrel - not over tightening the tap or cap and ensuring they were both coated with vaseline. Does anyone have any thoughts on what has been done wrong or what can be done to fix it? I have ordered some co2 bulbs but have never force carbonated before so am unsure if it will resolve the issue and how often this is required. I'm planning on investing in a corny keg for my next batch but am really hoping I can save this one as it would be pretty heartbreaking having to ditch 40 pints after getting this far.

Thanks so much,

Jon

Did you prime the keg with sugar? Most plastic kegs need fettling to hold pressure...

Hi, thanks for getting back so quickly - yeah I primed it with the sugar provided in the kit.

You say you filled the keg and moved it to the fridge at 2 degrees ..?