Forgot to rinse bucket after sterilising

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oo7tk

Reaction score
So I sterilised all my equiptment and stupidly forgot to rinse out my bucket before I started brewing, I know schoolboy error.. I emptied it pretty good but doubt it even dryed properly before I started..

So what do I do, just throw out the brew and start on another or leave it and taste if after a few weeks..

This is the steriliser I used and says rinse after using on instrautions..

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0722.jpg
    IMG_0722.jpg
    175.8 KB · Views: 234
Last edited by a moderator:
Why not take a sample and taste it? I'd imagine any steriliser flavours would take effect almost immediately so you should be able to tell if it's caused a problem.

If you drained it, the concentration of VWP in your brew should be very low.
So, is it fermenting? If so the VWP hasn't killed the yeast. If that's the case just carry on as you would have done. The true test will be what it tastes like in about two months time. So its glass half full, not half empty. :thumb:
And you never chuck beer away until you are satisfied it is undrinkable.

It would just feel like 2 months wasted and a lot of time bottling if it does turn out to be contaminated.. ah I'm raging with myself now such a silly mistake, feel like just dumping it and getting another kit..

It has not started to ferment yet but it's not even an hour in thr bucket..

I forgot to sterilize a bucket altogether and it turned out fine. Do you have a barrel you can chuck it in to avoid the bottling? then its no bother either way.

It would just feel like 2 months wasted and a lot of time bottling if it does turn out to be contaminated.. feel like just dumping it and getting another kit.. as not started to ferment yet but it's not even an hour in thr bucket..