Fuller's yeast (WlP002) - phelonic?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ben034

Regular.
Reaction score
I have cultured some yeast from a bottle of Bengal Lancer (I understand supposedly equivalent to the WLP0002 strain). All has gone well in terms of yeast growth. Im brewing with it today and had a little taste of the starter just to check as I always do. It's quite strongly phelonic / clove like in taste. Almost Belgian ale character. I've never used the yeast before. It's certainly not a taste I would associate with London Pride! Just emphasised in the starter and likely to be fine in 12l?

Thanks

I have cultured some yeast from a bottle of Bengal Lancer (I understand supposedly equivalent to the WLP0002 strain). All has gone well in terms of yeast growth. Im brewing with it today and had a little taste of the starter just to check as I always do. It's quite strongly phelonic / clove like in taste. Almost Belgian ale character. I've never used the yeast before. It's certainly not a taste I would associate with London Pride! Just emphasised in the starter and likely to be fine in 12l?

Thanks
I assume the phenols have been created by stressing the yeast, perhaps increasing step ups in starter too quickly?

I've just done about 5 brews with 1845 cultured yeast and it's not phenolic in what I've done. Kegged a Doom Bar type thing yesterday and it is lovely.

Yeah, it's certainly not what I was expecting. I have about 2 hours until it's time to pitch. I'm leaning towards risking it and hoping the 500ml of starter wort taste is drowned out in 12l. I don't have any dry alternatives either expect some US-05 which I'm not keen on using as this one was supposed to be all about the yeast!