Grain Bill too low for OG?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ClarenceBoddicker

Reaction score
Long time away from here but I finally have a grainfather set up in a place I can use it and planning a brew this weekend. One of my favourite modern Belgian breweries has shared some recipes on FB and I've bought ingredients to make all 3. I've attached the one for a Belgian IPA, but when I input into GF connect app it comes out at 1.046 with a FG of 1.015. Even if I cut to 19l that only gives me 4% abv when it should be 6.5! My initial thoughts are there is just not enough grain to boost it to correct OG but I am still pretty new to this lark. Ignore the add 24l at boil, that is a typo! Any thoughts most welcome. Edit; here is original link hope it works https://www.facebook.com/344933865625803/posts/2757565144362651/?substory_index=0&sfnsn=scwshmo&extid=Y0ybB5GHC5E3ilLXFB_IMG_1586600007974.jpg

Last edited:
Long time away from here but I finally have a grainfather set up in a place I can use it and planning a brew this weekend. One of my favourite modern Belgian breweries has shared some recipes on FB and I've bought ingredients to make all 3. I've attached the one for a Belgian IPA, but when I input into GF connect app it comes out at 1.046 with a FG of 1.015. Even if I cut to 19l that only gives me 4% abv when it should be 6.5! My initial thoughts are there is just not enough grain to boost it to correct OG but I am still pretty new to this lark. Ignore the add 24l at boil, that is a typo! Any thoughts most welcome.
Sorry I can’t read the recipe, any chance you can provide a link to the original thanks

I think that says 4kg pale malt for a 1.053 SG and 1.004 FG. I can’t see if it says what yeast to use but it looks like a high attenuator. Ditto I can’t see where it says how big the batch is

There are 2 things here: