Grain father system

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chaz

Reaction score
Afternoon all. Hope everyone's well under the circumstances.
I have a question re grain father brewing system. I have never used it before but have come across a home-brew recipe that requires either this or a cool box mash system, again a system that i have never used.
So i suppose the question im asking is their a cheap home made alternative to spending hundreds on a grain father system (can i make a system myself) and why cant i just brew it the old fashioned way by boiling my ingredients in a pot then using fermentor/keg would it really make a difference.
Thanks

Last edited:
Thanks strange-steve thats really put my mind at rest i was about to give up on all grain until you helped me out.
one question on that thread though, do i still need to add sugar when bottling/kegging, if so how much for a 5ltr brew?
Thanks again

You don't have to buy a Grainfather to make a decent AG brew as @strange-steve pointed out but there are budget versions of a GF, I use a Brewster Beacon a third of the price of a GF and can't fault it I'm on my 12th AG brew with it, conventional AG brewing is good and I still have my Mash Tun and use my old Liquor Tun as a Liquor Tun for the Brewster.

I use my Grainfather as a "BIAB" system! It stands in for the 3V system when I'm "modifying" it again, like now, or when I don't want to brew the 40L minimum that the 3V system churns out. On "another forum" I scribbled this:
A very stylised illustration of a BIAB system (I've repurposed some earlier illustrations) might go like:
BIAB.jpg