Grainmaster etc Vs 3 tier system

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bashley

Reaction score
I'm new to homebrewing and have only just started on the kits - I've got the bug! . I'm trying to educate myself on all grain possibilities and was wondering what system I'd need. I'd like to have a system in the future that can handle 40 pints as I don't have much time to do small batches. Kids etc!
The grainmaster is speaking to me but I feel that I would in some way be cheating, or at least lose the experience of doing it from scratch. Anyway, just looking for some advice on wether to go fo an all in one systme of an AG starter kit like his one https://www.brewuk.co.uk/all-grain-starter-set.html
Appreciate the help!
P.S We have gas hobs at home but no idea what temp they can reach. We're thinking of going induction.

I brewed kits years ago and wanted to get into it again. I thought about a 3 tier system but opted for the Bulldog Brewer V3. It is all in one (someone quipped it was like a bread maker for beer) and I have done 2 brews and it is straight forward and takes up little space. I can't comment on the other way and I am sure you will get both sides of the argument.

I tried doing BIAB on our stove, don't go there if you want larger volumes! I really struggled to get a good boil on anything more than 14 litres. Ended up going out and buying an ACE mash tun boiler (ACE aren't trading any more, but I believe Klarstein do a nice one) for BIAB. The lack of a recirculation pump though does lengthen the brew day, vorlaufing by hand to try to get clear wort.