Help for newbie beer won’t carbonate

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elliott 22

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to brewing and kegging, I currently have a king keg with top tap and have failed to carbonate a dipa that’s sitting around 10.24%

Kit used was https://www.lovebrewing.co.uk/founders-double-american-ipa-beerworks-craft-brewery-series/
Dry hopped in keg with 100g of
Citra, mosaic and el dorado

Starting gravity 1092
Final gravity 1014

I have tried to reprime twice now with 150g brewing sugar and shot of co2 after discovering varies leaks and have bought a balihoo cap with pressure gauge which I used last reprime and held pressure but beer still flat?

My only guess is that There is not enough yeast left in suspension for carbonation to happen?

So my question is do I now add some more yeast (champagne,ipa,lager or other?) and sugar at room temperature and try again?
Any help would be greatly appreciated from a struggling newbie

Not a solution, maybe someone else will chip in, but I can tell you what it isn't so you don't keep thinking down a road to nowhere:

There's is loads of yeast! Unless you filter your beer with filters designed to catch such microscopic beasties (I'm sure you don't!). But the yeast might not be viable for some reason so maybe adding more will do no harm and might work? Don't thrash the beer to get air in; it doesn't need it.

Don't add any more sugar: You've put 300g in which appears to still be there (300g should produce enough gas to propel a small creature into orbit, certainly enough gas to make any minor leaks fairly obvious). You could prove it by taking another hydrometer reading (my guess is it is about 1.020, priming having added some 6 points to FG) - but careful, muck about with the beer too much at this stage and you wont have any beer.

How long did you leave it to carbonate?