Help for newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ajdpilot

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm very new to brewing, Infact I have only just started my very first batch and I seem to have confused myself with over thinking and could do with a little help.
I'm currently brewing an extract, dilute in the FV kit. Namely the St. Peters Ruby Red ale kit. I have also been reading the how to brew book by John Palmer and watching a few YouTube videos.
I seem to have conflicting info from all the above sources.
I want to do a secondary ferment and then rack to my pressure keg and store in the keg taking straight from there to glass.
The kit says after primary fermentation (4-6 days at 19'C until gravity remains below 1014) to add sugar for conditioning then store in a warm place for 2 days then leave for 14 days to clear in a cool place.
The book and videos seem to say 1-2 weeks primary fermentation then 2-4 weeks secondary to clarify and age followed by priming and 1-2 weeks for conditioning.

My questions are:
1, after primary fermentation what temperature should I leave the FV for secondary fermentation and for how long?
(I have temperature control device)
2, should I continue to take hydrometer readings after primary fermentation and what would I be looking for if so?
3, when is FG taken, at the end of primary, secondary or after conditioning in the keg?
4, when should I rack to the keg, is this the correct time to add priming super and at what temperature should it be left at to condition and for how long?
5, at what point is it OK to drink and when would it be best to drink?

Any other helpful info would be much appreciated, no matter how obvious the info seems as I am a newbie after all.

Thanks for your help
Cheers,
Andy