Help with a Hoppy Lager recipe

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samba23

Reaction score
I am planning a light refreshing hoppy lager recipe around 4.7 ABV. Would you mind giving me your help and suggestions please.
I am not sure when to add the dry hops, does dry hopping suit a lager?
I was thinking of the following:

Grainfather G30:
IBU: 20
Colour: 6 EBC
90 min mash
90 min boil

Crisp German Pilsen 4.5 kg

60 min - 7.4 g - Magnum

Hop Stand:
30 min hopstand @ 76 °C
20 g - Amarillo
20 g - Azacca
20 g - Simcoe

Dry Hops:
5 days - 50 g - Amarillo
5 days - 50 g - Simcoe
5 days - 20 g - Azacca

Yeast: White Labs German Lager WLP830
Fermentation Profile:
13 °C - 1 days - Primary
11 °C - 10 days - Primary
16 °C - 5 days - Primary
2 °C - 7 days - Cold Crash
2 °C - 10 days - Conditioning (keg)

I have never used gelatine before, would you recommend I do with this brew? Is so would you mind advising when and how to do this.
Any advice much appreciated!

I'm no expert on lagers, I only made my first one earlier this year, but what persuaded me to make it was that I tried a commercial Pilsner, made with Saaz and Centennial hops that I found really enjoyable. the one I made had Magnum for bittering, then 30g of Saaz and 18g of Centennial, each split equally between 10m and flameout additions. The result was very refreshing and moreish and really goes well with a spicy curry.

Your suggested recipe sounds rather hop heavy in comparison. Do you have any spare FV's, so that you could split the batch, adding half the dry hop to one half and skipping the dry hop in the other?

I did use Gelatine, one leaf, softened in cold water, drained and dissolved in boiling water, allowed to cool then added to the cold crashed beer and left to clear before kegging.