Home made Candi Sugar

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeerCat

Landlord.
Reaction score
East and West Grimblestbottom under the rye
Last night i was dissolving some sugar in water to make some red wine and got sidetracked. When i came back i realised i had made what looked like a white syrup. I turned my back again and it had gone a dark brown. Anyway i set it out of curiosity and now have a 500g lump of this slightly burned tasting toffee. Its not totally unpleasant so wondering if i can get away with using it in a brew. I have never tried the Belgium Candi crystals before so cant compare. Here is an article on making Candi Sugar and Syrup http://www.franklinbrew.org/wp/?page_id=391

Guessing as always would of helped if i had the right tools, a thermometer.

Sure, if it tastes good, use it. If you didn't use acid and don't know how long it spent over 120C, then you can't be sure that its completely inverted, but it will still be fermentable. I'd use it to thin out something malty / high-gravity. I think it would go well with a spiced winter ale, toffee apple cider, a Belgian ale, something like that.

It wont invert into candi sugar without acid. The acid helps the sugar to break down from sucrose into fructose and glucose. You've probably got a lump of toffee like sucrose but you could use it in a brew. It'll be the same as any sugary adjuct for the purposes of how much abv%/OG it will add

Saying that my efforts wern't much better. I tried to make some last week and ended up with what MrsMQ described as mash potato mixed with concrete :lol:

I've found this