Hop plants/rhizomes - growing report

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Actually been a poor growing year, my chillies were rubbish too.

That mirrors our 2023 summer here in the UK, both my hops and chillies were poor. In fact, I've been growing chillis for almost 20 years and there was just no heat in any of them last summer, I guess it was the lack of sunlight: was warm enough, just cloudy nearly every day. 2024 seems to be going the same way :roll:

2023 was only my first hop growing season here in Kent so I restricted growth to 1 bine per rootstock.
Enough for 2 brews 18L each, late additions only.
2024 and the shoots are showing from the ground up to 5cm so far on all 3 plantings.
They are all the dwarf Prima Donna so this year I think I'll just let'em rip and see what happens.
Our chillies 2023 crop was down, but as hot as ever (mini greenhouse, SW facing small walled garden). Tabasco variety.

Commercial brewers here using green hops (ie undried) work on adding 7x what they would use of dried hops, in the US they seem to work on 5-6x, either way - there's a lot of water in them.

Also to my eyes they look a touch under-ripe in your photo.
Yeah I'm not organised for a green hop brew so threw some in the dehydrator at 35 degs last night, will do them in batches, vacuum pack and freeze.
Regards being ready, there was a lot of brown tips not apparent in the photos, they were papery to the touch, and popped off the plant in one piece with no stalks. So I 'think' that's about right?

That mirrors our 2023 summer here in the UK, both my hops and chillies were poor. In fact, I've been growing chillis for almost 20 years and there was just no heat in any of them last summer, I guess it was the lack of sunlight: was warm enough, just cloudy nearly every day. 2024 seems to be going the same way :roll:
They are great companion plants... 🙂