Hopeless Newbie

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eddie90

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am brand new to homebrewing and I am just trying to decipher exactly what I'll need. It's starting to feel like the more I read, the less I understand. I had no idea that brewing was such a science/art until very recently. I know that there are a few of these posts, so forgive me for repeating it, but they all seem to have different outcomes.

I am thinking about buying a Brew Monk 30l all-in-one system, but it seems like there's a lot more to think about too. I just wondered if anybody would be able to shed a little bit of light on the situation? I think I will need everything listed below, but if I am missing things, or if I am buying unnecessary things, please let me know.

• A hop spider.
  • A thermometer.
  • A fermentation fridge. I will be doing this in my cellar which is obviously quite cold at this time of year. I'm guessing these are just small fridges that people alter so that they do both heat and cold so that temperature can be easily regulated, without having to do it for the whole room? I have found a guide online on how to do this.
  • A plastic fermentation bucket.
  • Cleaning equipment. I'm still not entirely sure on what needs to be disinfected, or when, but I'll do more digging into that when I dive in.
  • Bottles.
  • Siphon for bottling.
Any advice on my little shopping list would be massively appreciated.

Cheers,
Eddie