How much sugar needed for carbonation...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damian

Reaction score
Apologies if this has been posted previously - did search and couldn’t see that it had.

I am fairly new to the brewing game (currently on second brew) and will be bottling this kit later.

It didn’t come with any ingredients/instructions for bottle conditioning. Pretty simple question really - how much sugar will I need to use? Have been googling around and found the various calculators but being new they mean nothing to me (yet)

All help gratefully received!

I use this
https://www.brewersfriend.com/beer-priming-calculator/
The easy bit is to define the volume of beer to be primed.
Then decide the level of carbonation by beer style.
Temperature is usually easy if you have fermented an ale, even though you may have crash cooled at completion. So in that case use 20*C or thereabouts.
I use table sugar for priming.
If you batch prime I suggest you make up a syrup and then add that to the bottling bucket.
If you intend to prime each bottle I suggest you work on the basis of one level teaspoon being equivalent to 4.5 g, and go from there. So for example if 20 litres of beer require 90g sugar thats 1 tsp per litre or half tsp per 500ml bottle. Some peolpe just use half tsp of sugar irrespective of what beer they are priming. And if you want to calibarate a preferred teaspoon just weigh out 20 tsp sugar then divide gross weight by 20.