How to lager

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Thinking of doing the below recipe from Greg Hughes book but I've never done a larger before. When and how do you carb this up? Before or after the 4 week conditining at 3C? Or does the conditining period actually carb even though it's only 3C?
I'm guessing I put it in the PB straight after fermentation and condition in that?

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_20180811_184756.jpg
    IMG_20180811_184756.jpg
    22.3 KB · Views: 81
You would carb after the 4 weeks at 3c. There will still be enough yeast but it will take longer if your going to bottle it with sugar. I you want a faster beer i would recommend trying that recipe with MJ's cali lager yeast, does not require extended lagering and can ferment at higher temps. And read up on the brulosophy lager method as that also save time. You normally condition in the fermentor and if you can get the beer colder near zero it will clear faster.

Cheers beer cat, is it worth moving to a secondary after fermentation for the conditioning period? I have a brew fridge now so near zero is not a problem. I will look up about brulosophy lager method, sounds interesting.

The brulosophy method did a good job for my helles 2 months ago. If you go traditional and lager for a month or more I'd transfer to a carboy so it's off the yeast, more for clear beer than risking autolysis.