I’m a beginner and creating a beer cellar

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seghes

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Simon and I’ve become bored stupid during lockdown. My son’s first try with a beer kit inspired me, and got me thinking.
I have a cellar under the house which I plan to use for brewing - it has water and electricity so can be adapted. I have ordered a Brewzilla/Robobrew, plus a budget urn for sparging. Couple of key questions before the kit arrives:
1 the cellar stays at C18/19 degrees all year round - ok for fermenting with no temp adjustment?
2 don’t know whether to stick with my sons budget plastic fermenting bucket or invest £100+ on a better product. Got my eye on the Fermzilla - is it worth spending the extra?
3 best online supplier of ingredients? Thinking about first clone brew of London Pride, Proper Job or Doom bar.
Thanks

Welcome @Seghes, sounds like a plan. Only might suggest you would want some ventilation, kits don't cause much, but brewing does (up to 3l an hour for me!). If you've gone electric you can brew outside, many here do.

Regarding fermenter, I'd stick to plastic for the time being, I'm my mind there is no added benefits, but others may say different. Fermenting under pressure and in a closed atmosphere certainly does have its benefits, but to really maximise these you need to have lots of other parts (kegs etc).

Best of luck
Nick

Point 1: That's a bit low for many ales, but you can always get a heat belt to raise the temperature of a fermenter if you need to. I struggle to get ambient temp down to below 24 degrees.

If you decided to do beers that ferment at lower temperatures you'll be able to source a used fridge for very low cost (or free) - always someone on local Facebook groups trying to get rid of one.

1 the cellar stays at C18/19 degrees all year round - ok for