Iodophor in homebrew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jceg316

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been recommended using Iodophor as apparently it kills a lot more than Starsan. I've never used it before. With homebrew and have some questions:

• is there a specific concentration I need to buy?
  • How many ml of solution per L is recommended?
  • Is there a recommended contact time?
  • Is it ok for stainless steel?
  • Is it no rinse?
Thanks in advance!

That's the stuff. Yes I do use it on SS but can't remember the dosage, I have it marked it on the dropper I use, but it is on the instructions. A bottle lasts me around 3 years and I brew every other week.

Great, thank you both for your help! I have just bought a bottle. Because it's from a chemist I had to fill in a bunch of medical questions, like what is my diagnosis :laugh8:

Last edited:
It's quite a common brewing sanitiser in some parts of the world, lots of people used it in NZ when I lived there (it was quite easy and cheap to find as it's used lots in the dairy industry). It's even got health benefits at trace amounts because of the iodine in it. However, I remember people saying it has a tendency to discolour plastic parts over time, which only affects them visually. Don't see it much over here, maybe it's the red tape brigade. Considering switching to it as well as star san seems to be bad for the skin my hands.

There should be an old thread hanging around documenting a good way to clean/sanitise corny's. The stuff is mentioned there. I'll see if I can find it

Cheers Tom

I use between 2 and 2.5 ml in 2 litres of water. And yes at that concentration it's no rinse

Cheers Tom