I've had a disaster!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michael Burnley

Regular.
Reaction score
I did a pendle witch clone on Sunday, I used Wyeast London Esb yeast and set the STC to 22.5 C. Monday before work it was bubbling nicely. I came home Monday evening and I noticed it was rather warmer than usual in the fermentation fridge, the STC still displayed 22.5, however upon checking the temp with my brew day thermometer it read 30 C! And also airlock activity seemed to have stopped. I borrowed the inkbird I had on the kegerator, rigged it up on the fermentation fridge and left it overnight to drop the temp, but this morning still no airlock activity, gravity last night was at 1.032 so it hasn't finished, what do I do? More yeast? I have a CML kveik Voss I can use, or is it to go down the drain?

Last edited:
I'm a noob, but what I've done in the past is got some champagne yeast, let that sit in 100ml boiled water, cooled to room temperature and then let that sit for 30 mins, then pitched and stirred in again.

(I know you don't want to introduce a lot of oxygen but at this point what can you do)

I read that some people do this and then add it to 500ml of the brew in a separate jug and then left that for 24 hours, after 24 hours add that 500ml back into the fermenter.

I've never thrown a batch out and had 3 stop in all the time I've been brewing.

The only 40 pints I had to bin was the one after I made the brew etc. drank it, threw up, I hadn't rinsed at stage one using the VWP cleaner! DOH.!

So if we assume your yeast has died I personally would just sprinkle a fresh pack of yeast onto the wort...assuming you are at 20deg C now.

buddsy

Last edited:
If you do have to reintroduce yeast then hydrate it with water at 35c first - don't just go killing half of it by sprinkling it on top.