Keezer gas / secondary regulator n00b questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jzrp

Reaction score
Hi hoping some people here might be able to help me with a couple of stupid gas set up questions.

Today’s the day where I finally plan to get the keezer fully operational.

I have a 3kg gas bottle, primary regulator, secondary regulator, manifold and a couple of corny kegs (would eventually go to a max of 4 kegs but starting with 2).

My plan was to use the secondary regulator to take a higher pressure line for quick force carbing, and then carry serving pressure supply round to the manifold or distribute to the kegs. I’m totally new to all this gas stuff though so a couple of stupid questions. I’m attaching a pic of the secondary for reference.

* With the secondary regulator… I always assumed that it can only reduce pressure rather than increase… but is that correct?

eg my assumption was that I should take say 30psi from the gas tank to the secondary, branch off for carbing and then take down to 12-15 for supply to the lines… is that right or would you take 12-15 from the bottle and then somehow amplify that with the secondary reg for the carbing line?

* The other question, and I think this might sound really stupid, is how do you know which is which on the secondary. Is the line that branches down vertically the original pressure supply, and the line that continues horizontally the reduced/ controlled by the dial on the secondary? There was no instructions with the reg ans can’t find anything. I’m aaauming it’s intuitive but didn’t want to guess with pressurised gas and cause problems?

Attachments

• FFE1D91D-B648-4ECC-843E-93479563A42B.jpeg
    FFE1D91D-B648-4ECC-843E-93479563A42B.jpeg
    53.7 KB · Views: 44
I think you've got things a bit back to front. I kind of have the setup you want.