Keg don't pour

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AromaticOtter

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to kegging, and bought a 10L minikeg from KegLand (I tend to brew 10L batches). That kit precisely : 10L MiniKeg Sodastream Kit.

I kegged my first beer a few days ago and decided to keg condition it (no force carb). After two weeks of conditioning, I decided to give it a try. I tried to serve it at room temperature (around 16C) as I don't have a fridge yet. A bit of beer poured really weakly at the beginning, and then nothing. If I try to pour from the party tap, I can only hear some gas coming out and the inside of the keg bubbling. At this point, I know that my keg is almost full, that the gas cylinder (SodaStream) is full and that the line isn't frozen as it has been stored at room temperature. I started at 10-12 PSI and played a bit with the pressure up to 25 PSI, but nothing changed. I thought that the dip tube (silicone) could have been clogged up by sediments, as it was keg conditioned. But I finally ended up opening the keg and checked it manually : it was not even the case.

Any idea where that could come from?
It's my first kegging experience, so maybe I am missing something obvious but I can't figure out what it could be.

Thanks for your help!

I checked it was correct. In fact, I even tried to invert them on purpose, to push some CO2 down the tube, just in case it was clogged up. But it didn't change anything...

Yes, all the pressure is released. So there is CO2 coming in and I can also see it on the gauge indicator

Try this outside the house: Remove the tap from the keg. Very very carefully press down gently with a small screwdriver on the poppet in the center of the disconnect on the keg. If there's any pressure behind it then liquid should start to spurt out. That'll prove the keg part of the system is good.