Lavender ‘Champagne ‘

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lilyflower

Reaction score
I have found a traditional recipe for Lavender ‘Champagne’:

40 Lavendef flowers
3 3/4 pints of cold boiled water
11oz sugar
4oz sultanas, finely chopped
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
Juice of 1 lemon

Is this recipe non-alcoholic? If so, if I added champagne yeast would it make it alcoholic or is it not as simple as that?
As I’m new to this, starting with simple recipes, have tried kits but want to experiment a bit.
Any advice would be great, but keep it simple, I’m still learning!
Thank you.

My mum used to make elderflower champagne with a simple recipe like that; I think wild flowers carry enough natural yeasts to start a fermentation. She bottled it with a little sugar and it seemed quite boozy and tasted delicious. I think it's a great idea!

As mentioned there may be enough yeast to get it going but I think I'd add flowers to water with a campden tab to kill off any bad things, then add the rest and some yeast the day after,
Go for it, let us know how it turns out.

Would you boil the flowers? I would certainly dissolve the sugar in hot water. And maybe steep the flowers in water overnight?

Bof. To answer your first question, yes, it's alcoholic. Adding champagne yeast won't make it more alcoholic, it'll just ensure that it doesn't taste as horrible as it might if some dodgy natural yeast had got hold of it.

My sister found my mum's recipe!

002.jpg

I think it needs about three gallons of flowers!

Thank you for all your replies ! I will certainly update you of the update,just waiting for Lavender to come into season

I have found a traditional recipe for Lavender ‘Champagne’:

40 Lavendef flowers
3 3/4 pints of cold boiled water
11oz sugar
4oz sultanas, finely chopped
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
Juice of 1 lemon