Lengthy ferment tail

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ian notley

Reaction score
I'm trying a batch of Woodfordes Bure Gold - Its my 6th batch (up to now other Woodfordes recipes) so I'm still learning. Is it normal for the fermentation to go for so long (13 days) - the SG appears to have stabilised at 1012 (from 1043) but its still producing CO2, admittedly at a low rate?
I ask as my other brews were generally complete after 6-7 days, and I will put into mini-kegs and am keen not to have any accidents/create any pressure bombs. Is this a risk?
Incidentally I put in the Amarillo/Cascade hop pellets after 8 days.
The samples I have drawn off don't taste unusual (quite nice actually) and I cant see any evidence of infection.

Do you have it somewhere temperature controlled or just at ambient? It's potentially colder now so could take longer if the latter.

I leave anything I make for at least 14 days anyway so I wouldn't worry.

13 days isn't too long most on here would say it's normal. If the FG isn't changing from here on then transfer to a 2FV. I think that the yeast is the reason you've had fermentation completed I never use kit yeast.

Not controlled but it's been pretty static at 20-21c in a basement. I'll leave it a bit longer are recheck in a few days. Thanks.

13 days isn't too long most on here would say it's normal. If the FG isn't changing from here on then transfer to a 2FV. I think that the yeast is the reason you've had fermentation completed I never use kit yeast.

Thanks.

birthday coming up, sounds like I need to ask for more kit.

Basically its ready when its ready. Some beers can be done in 3 days, others 3 weeks.
You either wait for the airlock to stop bubbling or you make sure the SG has stabilised where it is supposed to be, and then a couple of days extra or longer if you feel the need