Lot's of sediment in bottles

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mungri

Landlord.
Reaction score
Has anyone else made the Beer works Presidents Sierra kit?
Had it in the FV for 2 weeks. Secondary fermentation for 9 days with the prescribed amount of priming solution.
Transferring it to cold conditioning today and surprised at the amount of sediment in the bottom of the bootles.About 1mm i'd say.
I've only made one other kit to compare with, that being a Woodfordes Nelsons Revenge.
The Woodfordes had very little sediment in the bottles.
The Beer Works kit coes with 50g Citra hop pellets to add at five days. Would this account for the extra sediment?
I did use the nylon straing bag that came with the kit on my syphon.
Any advice appreciated.

I'm a bit of a novice myself, having only completed 2 kits.
My 1st kit was the Youngs American IPA, which I followed instructions to the letter, and ended up with quite a lot of sediment, and VERY gassy beer in the bottles.
My second kit was a Beerworks kit called Dragon's Spéciale Kentish Bitter. This time I took more advice from experienced brewers on here. I had it in the FV for around 17 days before lugging the FV into the garage to cold crash for 2 days. This certainly dropped the hops. I then used a mesh bag on each end of my siphon to transfer the brew to my PB (30 pints) and into bottles (10 pints) along with the secondary sugar which I had dissolved into water. Taking as much care as possible not to disturb the trub on the bottom of the FV when siphoning.
The second brew is almost clear of ANY sediment in the bottles, and not as lively/fizzy. I'm gonna try the same method when I barrel / bottle my BeerWorks Spire IPA that will be ready next week.

I'm a bit of a novice myself, having only completed 2 kits.